Welcome to the Utility Radiological Safety Board of Ohio

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of SITE NAME. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.

Ohio Emergency Management Agency

Utility Radiological Safety Board of Ohio About Us

The Utility Radiological Safety Board of Ohio

Description of the URSB

The Utility Radiological Safety Board (URSB) of Ohio was established by the Ohio General Assembly as part of Amended Substitute House Bill 111 in July of 1989 and later revised by Amended Substitute House Bill 215 in June 1997. The Board’s purpose is to develop a comprehensive policy for the State regarding nuclear power safety. The Board’s objectives are to promote safe, reliable, and economical power; establish a memorandum of understanding with the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the State; and recommend policies and practices that promote safety, performance, emergency preparedness, and public health standards that are designed to meet the State’s needs.

The URSB membership consists of six state agencies: the Ohio Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, and Health; the Ohio Emergency Management and Environmental Protection Agencies; and the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio. The URSB has a Working Group comprised of member agencies’ staff to support the Board and a Citizens Advisory Council (CAC), which provides the Board with citizen concerns. Board meetings are held quarterly at the offices of the Ohio Emergency Management Agency at 2855 West Dublin-Granville Road, Columbus, Ohio. The meetings are open to the public.

To find out more information concerning the Utility Radiological Safety Board and its members, please refer to the URSB homepage at http://www.ursb.ohio.gov/ or contact the URSB Secretary at (614) 889-7150.

The Board members and their respective designees are listed below:

Ohio Department of Agriculture
Ms. Dorothy Pelanda, Director
Ms. Terri Gerhardt, Designee

Ohio Emergency Management Agency
Ms. Sima Merick, Director
Ms. Holly Welch, Designee

Ohio Department of Commerce
Ms. Sheryl Maxfield, Directorr
Mr. John Sharier, Designee

Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
Ms. Laurie A. Stevenson, Director
Mr. Jim Sferra, Designee

Ohio Department of Health
Dr. Amy Acton, Director
Ms. Rebecca Fugitt, Designee

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
Mr. Sam Randazzo, Chairman
Mr. Randall Schumacher, Designee

Accessibility and Privacy Notice and Policies.
Copyright © 2009 URSB